Getting Started

I don’t know what this blog is about yet.

I think that’s kind of the point. I’m at a place in my life where everything is in flux. I just moved to a different state, I graduated from college this summer, I’m jobless for the first time since I was 14 years old, and I’m living with my partner’s family, who are all totally different from my family.

I think this is a personal blog, but there’s so much about a person, so I’m trying to figure out where to start. Is it about me trying to find a job? Is it about which coffee houses I like around here, and why? Is it about how terrifying it is to try to find friends outside of a college setting? All of those things and more? I think I’ll just start with an introduction, and see where I want to go from there. Oh, also, if you can’t tell, this first post is totally stream of consciousness, so it’s going to be a little all over the place.

So anyway, I’m Finn. I’m 22, I use they/them pronouns, and I am currently unemployed. In May, I received my Bachelor’s of Science in Biology and haven’t done anything with it so far, but not for lack of trying. I live with my partner, L, and their family. Including L, L’s mom and dad, L’s brother, L’s brother’s totally-not-girlfriend, and L’s brother’s friends/partygoers, there are usually between 5 and 7 people in this house at night, but during the day, it’s mostly just us two.

I’m definitely adjusting to living with this many people; I’m very introverted, and it’s hard to find a quiet corner when there are always people home. Don’t get me wrong, I like it here (now that I’ve had time to get used to the change, but I’m thinking that’ll be another post entirely), and I like the people. I just want to be able to sit and play No Man’s Sky or my other myriad video games (a series of posts? a side blog?) for a while without conversation sometimes.

We’re living in the greater Boston area. I like going downtown, and hopefully in the coming months, we can find an apartment close to town (once we have jobs). I’m not as keen on suburban life. See, I came from a small town originally, but I went to college in a city with plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars, and cute shops. I got really, really spoiled having stuff to do all the time. Oh, and 24-hour grocery stores. I’m starting to miss those too. And late night food! The restaurants all close here by 9.

I guess the most recent update, obviously, is that I have a blog now. Hopefully more updates will follow. Maybe I’ll even get to say that I got a call back from Whole Foods and I have a job. But for now, this is where my life is at, and I think that’s okay.

 

-Finn

Leave a Reply

